Would love feedback on vertical with baffle plates design

Let's hear about your ideas for smokers and grills.
rbaco

Would love feedback on vertical with baffle plates design

Post by rbaco » July 13th, 2019, 4:34 pm

I've been smoking meat for a few years on and off, and have used both a Big Green Egg clone with a controller and a UDS. I also grill a whole hog every year - on a rotating spit. So... I am going to build a brick pit for grilling my hogs and would like to add a smoker on one side. My idea is to build with masonry block with brick on the outside, and firebrick in the FB. I also want to make sure I prevent grease, etc from falling into the FB, so I thought I'd add a couple of sloped, overlapping baffle plates with a drain though the wall at the bottom of the slope. My assumption is that if I separate the plates at a distance that provides the right throat area, this should work well. But I've never built something like this, so wanted to run it by the experts. My design so far looks like this:

Screen Shot 2019-07-13 at 2.32.10 PM.png

Any feedback would be appreciated. Once I finish the design and start the build, I'll post pics.

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

pr0wlunwoof
Expert
Expert

Re: Would love feedback on vertical with baffle plates design

Post by pr0wlunwoof » July 13th, 2019, 5:16 pm