First attempt at building a Standard Offset - need help

Horizontal smokers with a side firebox and tuning plates.
Wanderer

First attempt at building a Standard Offset - need help

Post by Wanderer » May 9th, 2018, 10:58 am

Hello all,
This is my first attempt to build a standard offset smoker.
We don't have big propane tanks here in my country and so have been looking around for other alternatives.
I don't have tools and experience with metal works and have to get this done in a local metal workshop.
So using thick sheet metal is very costly for me and doesn't come within my budget constraints right now.

After much looking around, I came across this 10mm thick, 18" diameter and 71" long metal pipe in a
local scrap yard for a reasonable price:

It also has reinforcement rings inside which needs to be removed I guess:

My question is for a pipe of this thickness and diameter what is the optimum length that I can go for?
Currently I'm planning on building a 48" CC. So please take a look at the calculations below from the
pit calculator and let me know if you have any suggestions/corrections:

I'm aiming to stay around the recommended size as much as possible.

I also found there another pipe of 6mm thickness, 27" diameter and 56" length. Is it also a viable
option for building a standard offset smoker? Was wondering, since may be its a bit thin for a 27"
diameter pipe, will it have heat retention/stabilization issues?

I'm hoping a 10mm thick shell is not too thick to have any issues for an 18" diameter pipe.
Also, how does the thickness of the pipe affect the calculations from the pit calculator?
Please let me know what you guys suggest.

Thanks!

AndrewPalmer71
Needs more Steel
Needs more Steel
Title: SmokinAddict
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Re: First attempt at building a Standard Offset - need help

Post by AndrewPalmer71 » May 9th, 2018, 11:56 am

For the right price I would buy both, and think about how to use them later