Thermometer port.

Horizontal smokers with a side firebox and tuning plates.
12ring
Just Got in trouble for buying tools
Just Got in trouble for buying tools
Posts: 39
Joined: June 10th, 2017, 8:07 am

Thermometer port.

Postby 12ring » October 27th, 2017, 9:21 am

What are you guys doing for a thermometer port? I don’t really want to spend another $75 on a high dollar thermometer for the cook chamber door and I won’t settle for a cheap one. I’ll just use my Maverick. My cook chamber is 1/4” thick. Are you guys drilling a hole and that’s it or is there some type of insert? Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



User avatar
ajfoxy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 1457
Joined: April 12th, 2016, 8:07 pm
Title: Neophyte Smoker Bldr
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: Thermometer port.

Postby ajfoxy » October 27th, 2017, 4:31 pm

You could use a Silicon High Heat plug with a hole in it for the probes.


Learning generally boils down to "Repetition or the avoidance of pain", some people learn by doing, some by watching and some just have to pee on the electric fence.

Whether you think that you can, or that you can't, you are usually right. Henry Ford

User avatar
Rodcrafter
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8070
Joined: July 21st, 2012, 5:46 pm
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Thermometer port.

Postby Rodcrafter » October 27th, 2017, 9:03 pm

I have just drilled a hole for my Mavericks. The Smoke has larger probes so I will be doing something else soon. I have temp gauges on my smokers so I don’t need the probe for the CC very much any more.


Making memories!


Current Smokers: Backyard RF Offset and Hybrid RF Offset trailer rig with Cowboy cooker and fish fryer, always room for more........

User avatar
holyp
Just Got in trouble for buying tools
Just Got in trouble for buying tools
Posts: 47
Joined: September 28th, 2015, 11:57 am

Re: Thermometer port.

Postby holyp » October 29th, 2017, 2:05 am

I also drilled a hole in the back, I think it's fine. Managed to get 3 probes in for my cyberQ.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk



User avatar
Squiggle
Expert
Expert
Posts: 2611
Joined: December 19th, 2015, 5:04 pm
Title: Reformed non-smoker!
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...
Location: Mole Creek, Tasmania

Re: Thermometer port.

Postby Squiggle » November 4th, 2017, 5:20 am

Yeah, The Wombat just has a hole for the Maverick probes, works fine & no smoke comes out. :beer:


Formerly known as "Hey you there in the bushes!"


Return to “Standard Offsets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest