Firebox location?

Horizontal smokers with a side firebox and tuning plates.
Ruff22
beginner
beginner

Firebox location?

Post by Ruff22 » November 1st, 2016, 6:01 pm

Hey all,

Great site! I'm finding out about all the things I DON'T know.

This is my first project so excuse me if this covered under another topic, as i am not sure what to call the problem i am having.

I have a 275 smoker that I am rebuilding. The bottom was pretty much gone but the rest was still salvageable.
There was never a firebox to speak of... it looks like it was only used for direct cooking.
20161031_175100.jpg
20161031_175119.jpg
I want to put the fire on the front (in the grated area) because the back will cause weight distribution problems. The measurements there are "29×45.5 and the distance from the trailer to the cook surface is "16.
20161031_175300.jpg
20161031_175228.jpg
The problem is that that would put the fb at the same level as the cc on the trailer. Also, because of the size of the cc i will need the entirety of the space available to make the fb; up to a height of "16 assuming a semi-rectangular fire box is an option.

Is any of this doable?

Is there an option that I am missing?

Is there any way to fix the airflow problems that my fb placement is going to cause?

Any help is appreciated!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Squiggle
Expert
Expert
Title: Reformed non-smoker!
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

Re: Firebox location?

Post by Squiggle » November 1st, 2016, 6:48 pm

I believe Jambo units have the FB in line with the CC, but I don't know how his flow works, definitely not reverse flow doing it that way. I think his are insulated too.
Also, you'd have to modify the trailer so the door can open & you'd be working over the draw bar when tending the fire.

I think you'd be best off putting it offset at the back & putting weights at the front to get the balance right. :kewl: