controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

AKA- Pellet Poopers
Post Reply
ctsmoke
beginner
beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: August 16th, 2014, 11:26 pm

controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by ctsmoke » July 4th, 2016, 8:12 am

Hi all Happy 4th ! I just finished a cabinet build it is 21"x21"x44" insulated "those are inside Dimensions " I used a Smoke Daddy 12" unit I have the chimney it is 4"x4" sq. tube exhausting out the top toward the back of the cabinet . The problem I am having is no matter what we do we cannot get the temperature even between what is set on the controller and the thermometer i have mounted on the door towards the top it always seems to have between a 25-40 deg.difference I spoke with Dennis at Smoke Daddy and he told me I probably needed more ventilation so I added 2 more 2in . holes next to the already 4, 1in. holes that i already had so I think i have plenty of airflow and that didn't seem to help . I have looked at several of these builds on here and other places some exhaust out the top and some exhaust out the side i wandered if that is some of our problem? I was wandering if anyone has had this same problem and what you did to correct it ? I will try to post some pics today sometime . Thanks Chris .



ctsmoke
beginner
beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: August 16th, 2014, 11:26 pm

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by ctsmoke » July 4th, 2016, 11:55 am

sorry for the wait but here they are.
Last edited by ctsmoke on July 4th, 2016, 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.




ctsmoke
beginner
beginner
Posts: 7
Joined: August 16th, 2014, 11:26 pm

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by ctsmoke » July 9th, 2016, 9:59 am

Really no one has ever had this problem before?



User avatar
Big T
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5609
Joined: September 1st, 2013, 2:40 pm
Title: Go Getter
BBQ Comp Team Name: Backyard Boys
Location: Lower Alabama

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by Big T » July 9th, 2016, 12:47 pm

I don't have any experience with pellet cookers, so I can't speak on your set up. I have had temperature issues in my RF cookers and usually found that it was bad readings from my thermometers. Have you tried using a maverick or a reliable digital thermometer and checked the internal readings in different places ? Is it hotter up top or down on the bottom ?


Measure Twice.....Cut Three Times.

User avatar
Pete Mazz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2932
Joined: February 16th, 2013, 8:19 am
Title: Meathead
Location: Bucks County, PA

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by Pete Mazz » July 10th, 2016, 4:53 am

:yth:

Check the temp with an accurate digital probe where the thermocouple from the Smoke Daddy is mounted. My door thermometer will give me different temps based on where my probe is, how much food is near it, etc. There aren't a lot of pellet guys on here so you might be on your own.


If it's tourist season, how come I can't shoot 'em?

Don't speak the language? Try this: Smoker Terminology

Try my SmokerBuilder Calculators

User avatar
Rodcrafter
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8456
Joined: July 21st, 2012, 5:46 pm
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by Rodcrafter » July 10th, 2016, 7:07 am

Frank and Tom have pellet pooppers. Maybe they can help


Making memories.


Current Smokers: Backyard RF Offset and Hybrid RF Offset trailer rig with Cowboy cooker and fish fryer, always room for more........

User avatar
Tom_Heath
Founder
Founder
Posts: 3396
Joined: January 17th, 2011, 10:36 pm
Title: TortillaTom
BBQ Comp Team Name: SmokerBuilder
Location: Independence Mo

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by Tom_Heath » July 21st, 2016, 10:32 pm

Ok wait a second here... Never seen this, so let's try for a mini btu moment.

Close all the vent holes and open the stack half way.

Set your control temp on 250.

Give it 30 minutes and see where it's at.

You should not need any additional air aside from what the pellet unit provides.

I think you are sucking the hotness out of the cooker via draft from your vent holes.

Mine was even temps but my stack way mid level opposite side as the hopper.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Click here : How to Upload Pics (Video) | Click here : Are you on FaceBook? |
--->Click here : Need plans for your build? OR Message me at ---->>> https://m.me/SmokerPlans
--->Are you interested in building smokers for profit?
Click here : Shoot me a PM to learn about a new opportunity launching soon!

sparky3
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: June 30th, 2014, 9:56 pm

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by sparky3 » December 25th, 2016, 11:41 pm

Is your smoker running hotter than what the temperature on the display shows?
I have the same problem, same smoke daddy setup. I tested the smoke daddy probe in boiling water, full boil it reads 208-211 degrees.
Ended up using another temp probe that is trusted and adjust the set point to get the temp wanted. 210 to 215 on the set point gets me 230-235.

Did you find anything that fixed the issue?



User avatar
Gizmo
Founder
Founder
Posts: 6135
Joined: July 23rd, 2011, 11:55 am
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Edna's Kids Comp Team - KCBS Certified Judge
Location: Kearney, NE

Re: controlling temp. on new pellet smoker

Post by Gizmo » December 26th, 2016, 7:01 am

I recently re-started watching the conversations on here so I just discovered this thread. Did this ever get resolved ctsmoke? I've done several of these. :D


And on the eighth day God created barbecue …. because he DOES love us and he wants us to be happy. :D
Current smokers: Egor (trailered RF) and Easybake (tabletop pellet drive)

Post Reply

Return to “Pellet Smokers”